Dungeon Command Hirst Arts Tiles

If you have time to check it out, I have a guest post up on Stuffer Shack today. It’s a video tutorial on how to make modular terrain.

It’s a complete coincidence that I finished the first two sets of Dungeon Command Hirst Arts tiles on the same week that Tyranny of Goblins came out. Still, it’s a pretty convenient coincidence. Some of you may remember a few weeks ago I wrote an article on some ways to pimp out your Dungeon Command. Today I present to you the ultimate way to bring the game to life. Short of, you know, actually gathering real monsters and heading to a real dungeon. What follows are pictures of the two complete sets of Dungeon Command tiles in glorious 3D.

We’ll go chronologically, so first up is the Sting of Lolth set. With inevitable commentary, because I can’t help but lift the curtain a little bit on the process. Up front I will apologize that not all the pictures are up to par because I was in a bit of a hurry last night. But they still get the point across. (And, as always, click for bigger)

This is the entryway for the Lolth set. The pieces are based on 3/4″ blue foam; I had to cut a section out for the stairs. I’m not entirely sure what the intention is for the stairs – if you’re at the bottom, can you move straight out into the dungeon, or do you have to go up first?

Next up the two “fire” tiles from the Lolth set. I used my lava technique for the fire pits. I realize that they’re probably supposed to be braziers, but lava pits is more practical for minis to stand on, should the need arise.

The final Lolth tile gave me no end of grief. The 45 degree walls were perplexing at first – I was trying to configure the floors around them, and the floors were always a little off. Then someone suggested placing the walls on the floors, and everything fell into place. The treasure piles, by the way, is just gold glitter with the treasure chests I mentioned in the first Dungeon Command Accessories post.

Now the Heart of Cormyr set. First up we have the entryway.

Next up the “plain” (non magic circle) tile

The magic circles had me a little perplexed. I wasn’t sure about the best way to get them on the floor. A paintbrush would be too difficult, so I was planning on printing something out, and gluing it to the floor. I wasn’t thrilled by the idea, but it was the best I could come up with. Then @KatoKatonian suggested I try Sharpie Oil Based Paint Pens. I ran out and got a fine point white and a superfine point green. I used some round stuff I had lying around to trace a circle, and I was off. Thick white background, and a thin green overlay. They worked great. I might switch it up next time though, and use a thicker colored background, and put white on top.

At first glance, this last tile shouldn’t be too hard. But look at the borders, and the wall in the middle there. They kind of cut off the squares they go through so that the squares are less than 1 inch. That’s no big deal on a cardboard tile; the mini’s base can just hang off. Not so much in Hirst Arts. I ended up using a 1/4″ wall around the outside of the floor, but even with that, the tile is hanging 1/4 of an inch too far off the foam base. *Shrug* No way I see around this one. (I noticed one of the Tyranny of Goblins tiles does this same thing)

That’s all of them! Here’s a few pics of them in action. You’ll notice that there is a noticable gap in between some of the tiles – that’s mostly because they’re sitting on a bedsheet that’s a little wrinkled and uneven, though they don’t all push perfectly together. I’ll do better next time, I promise. :-)

Now, I guess it’s time to get started on the Tyranny of Goblins tiles!

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dungeon Command Hirst Arts Tiles

  1. Way cool, Benoit. I look forward to seeing what’s next!

  2. Brian says:

    I saw a guy at my FLGS who had made some of these. They were pretty impressive. I never played Dungeon command but it looks like a ton of fun. This is just another great use for those molds.

Leave a Reply

