Dungeon Command Hirst Arts Tiles: Tyranny of Goblins

Well, here we finally are. The big reveal day for the Tyranny of Goblins Hirst Arts tiles. This particular set actually took me longer than I thought it would. There were several blocks I needed that I either didn’t have ready to go or ran out of. When this happens, I end up splitting my time between casting and construction, which really slows down the process. Plus, one of the blocks I needed I could only cast one at a time, so that slowed things down even further. (Compare that to wall bricks which I can cast about 20 at a time).

This set had a few challenges for me – the two biggest were the doors and the “Temple” tile (I have an unofficial name for each of the tiles), which has steps on it. While stairs on a 2D map are no problem, when you translate to 3D, it creates an elevation issue. But more on all that later. Let’s get started, shall we?

This start tile is pretty basic – which is fine. Not every tile needs to have all sorts of funky stuff going on. But there’s not much to say here, so we’ll keep moving.

This is the “Bedroom Tile,” and our first instance of a tile with a door on it. The squares with doors on them are usable, but how is a mini supposed to be placed there? I have a door right in the middle of them. The simple answer is to make the doors removable. Simple, but not easy. The key to making the doors removable is using a technique I first found at Ben’s RPG pile (Triggered Trap Door). I used it exactly as presented – when a mini needs to stand in a door square, the door is simply lifted out of the tile and set aside. The rest of the features in this tile have already been covered, so I won’t rehash them here.

Tile with door removed

I call this next tile “The Vault.” It looked a little plain to me, so I decided to explain the difficult terrain as being fallen pillars. As you can see, I’ve added some pillars to the walls, and the last pillar in each row is missing – it lies smashed on the floor.

Finally, the temple tile. This tile has a lot going on, from doors to a magic circle to an altar. Speaking of which, I had plans to make a tiny book for the altar, but ran out of time. I may still make one. The doors are removable, as with the other tiles, and the magic circle was made with the same technique as the Heart of Cormyr set. I also splattered some red paint on the altar and floor to make it look like a sacrifice was recently made there. At the beginning of the article, I mentioned the elevation issue created by the stairs in this tile. I used my basing foam (which is 3/4″) to create the elevation difference between the lower and upper portions of this tile. Then, I made some “risers” for other tiles out of that same foam, so when a normal tile needs to be put against the upper portion of the Temple tile, you just put a riser under it, and the two tiles line right up. I actually really like the look of the different levels.

 

And here’s a sample dungeon using the tiles. Hopefully, you can see the striking elevation difference caused by the Temple tile – it actually looks quite cool up close, and is worth the little bit of extra work to make “risers” for the other tiles.

.

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dungeon Command Hirst Arts Tiles: Tyranny of Goblins

  1. Roland says:

    Stunning work.

  2. Alphastream says:

    You are my hero. The temple looks awesome!

  3. Jacob Zimmerman says:

    You did the stairs backwards the temple tile. The area with the alter is supposed to be raised, not lowered.

    • Benoit says:

      I disagree. You can see them both ways. Keep looking.

      • Erik Burigo says:

        Awesome work, Benoit!
        However, I agree Jacob: the altar is elevated. There is a shading on the steps (shadow cast by the step above), that is darker toward the altar. This is, in my opinion, a clear clue about the stairs direction.

  4. Jacob Zimmerman says:

    Otherwise, awesome job :P

  5. Blair says:

    Hey Man,

    Great Job, I enjoy your articles, I read them and look forward to future tutorials.

Leave a Reply

