Fourthcore Team Deathmatch: The Final Model

I’m still decompressing from Gencon, so I’m not up to writing a full-on article at this point, but expect several posts about my Gencon experiences in the coming weeks.  For now, I wanted to reveal the pictures of the final Fourthcore Team Deathmatch model that I made.  This map was the championship map, where the final two teams battled it out for victory.  If you want to know more about the mechanics of this map, check out C. Steven Ross’s blog DMG p. 42 where he outlines all the features and hazards of this map that he designed.  Also, if you missed pictures of the other two models, you can find them here.

Here is the map that I was working off of.  I think I bugged Steven at least a half dozen times for clarifications about this particular map since it is so rich with special features and miscellaneous terrain pieces.  If you’ve played Revenge of the Iron Lich, you may recognize it, as the map is a condensed version of that dungeon. (Click any picture to enlarge)

And here are the pictures of the finished model.  I did not have time to set up the model and photograph it at home, so I apologize for the crappy lighting and quality.  I was working with flourescent lights and a point n shoot camera.

Overhead view of the entire map

The "floating" symbol of the heisarch I printed on a transparency. Too bad it doesn't show up well against the black tablecloth...

I "reinterpreted" the demon face to match my skill level with Sculpey. The statues are Reaper minis.

The boiling lake of mithril is water effects painted metallic (Boltgun Metal).  You know about the insubstantial staircase if you read this blog regularly.  The coffins are by Showcase Terrain; I found them on eBay by searching “Dwarven Forge Coffin,” though you can also get them through the Showcase Terrain website.

The skeleton on a throne holding the deck of mortals is an approximation using a Reaper mini.

All the metallic walls and platforms are simply cardboard spray painted silver.  The huge cube in the middle is made out of wood, and I’ll be going into detail as to how I made that in a future blog post (I didn’t get it right on the first try, and thought my process might be informative)

This map had a lot going on mechanically, and I give Steven Ross a huge kudos for being able to keep track of it all as he ran the event.  I have some more thoughts on this event, but you’ll have to listen to our podcast this week for those, as well as some other Gencon thoughts.

Have any questions about specific pieces of this map that I didn’t highlight? Ask away!

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fourthcore Team Deathmatch: The Final Model

  1. Great times, man, and your stone models were awesome! I’m so happy with the E1M1 and E1M2 I got from you on Sunday. They are superb! These all really pushed the matches over the edge in terms of quality and immersion. I can’t thank you enough for all the work you’ve put in to make this event the success it was.

Leave a Reply

