Weekly Roundup: Next Few Weeks Edition

The weird thing about major life changes, for good or bad, is that they mess with your rhythm.  I’ve recently had a major life change (new job), which is great for me, but I’m still trying to find my balance.  Which is my way of saying, for the next few weeks I won’t be updating the site as regularly as I normally do.  Instead, the posting schedule will be approximately “whenever I can get to it.”  Hopefully once two weeks is up, I’ll be back in the swing of things.

For those of you looking forward to the new DDI submission window, you should brush up with Alphastream‘s tips on submitting. It includes a bunch of links as well as general advice. And yes, he has been published in Dragon. (Dungeon? Pretty sure it’s Dragon.)

Dungeon’s Master wrote about the 8 things they’ve learned by playing in the Encounters program.  These are good lessons for anyone just picking up the DM mantle, and good reminders for those of us who have been wearing it for a long time. (We might also mention that their blog is currently accepting submissions)

Neuroglyph Games presented some interesting math on skills, specifically in the context of skill challenges. We think the solution is the same one you’d use if your party stomps all over “equal level” combats – increase the level of the combats (or, in this case, skill challenge).

Reality Refracted wrote a two part series on why you might want to reduce the number of die rolls at the table, and some techniques for doing it.  It’s interesting that I heard some similar discussion in the Gencon “adventure design” seminar.

Also, don’t miss the interview with Shelly Mezzanoble in Forbes Magazine this week.

If you’re an RPG Blogger, you may be interested in the carnival being hosted by Wombat’s Gaming Den of Iniquity – it’s been titled “Winter is Coming.” Check it out if you’d like to participate.

Finally, we just noticed that RPG Musings has been doing a roundup of games on Kickstarter every week.  We like that and hate it at the same time.  For sure, we like being able to access a list like this, but we hate it because it means that we’ll probably be spending lots of money on Kickstarter projects.

What did we miss in the fun RPG blogosphere this week?

This entry was posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Roundup: Next Few Weeks Edition

  1. benensky says:

    Whenever I read, ” Which is my way of saying, for the next few weeks I won’t be updating the site as regularly as I normally do. Instead, the posting schedule will be approximately “whenever I can get to it.” Hopefully once two weeks is up, I’ll be back in the swing of things.” I know there is a 70% chance this may be the end of this blog. Hope it is not true with this blog. However, good luck in your new job.

    • Benoit says:

      lol, no worries, I will begin posting again. I’m just trying to get my feet under me with this new job. I actually have several articles in the works, just no time to finish them right now. Plus, Hamblin and I already have the next podcast planned. Give me two weeks, I’ll be back, I promise!

  2. T.W.Wombat says:

    Thanks for the mention! We’ve got a dozen people signed up so far, and another dozen or so interested in participating, so this should result in a pile of good RPG content. I can’t wait for Friday to kick it all off.

    Blatant plug: If you want to produce something winter-themed for use in a tabletop RPG, drop on by and sign up! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

