National Game Design Month 2012 And Me

Just this past week, I became aware of the National Game Design Month (NaGaDeMon). While I had heard plenty about National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in past years, I had never been interested in taking part. NaGaDeMon, however, I can get on board with. In fact, I have a partially finished board game sitting in my filing cabinet right now. So, my goal for the month of November will be to complete the game. I will have more details in a few weeks, when the month actually starts including where the game is currently, and what my challenges are. I’m also hoping to post the rules and other bits so that you can playtest it. Yes, you. At this point, I have no real interest in board game production, so when the month is done, I’m hoping to release the game into the wild.

With that in mind, the focus of the blog is going to shift in the month of November. I do have a terrain post in the queue that I’m very excited about, but other than that, all the articles will be on developing “the game.” I’m hoping that, by designing in public, I will both be motivated to finish the project, and receive feedback on it from a wide pool of people. I’m not sure how often I’ll be blogging, but at least once a week as normal, and the Weekly Roundup won’t change.

If you want to know more about NaGaDeMon, you can go to the official website, or the blog of Nathan Russell, the organizer. You can also follow him on Twitter, or simply track the #NaGaDeMon hashtag. Finally, there’s a Facebook page.

Come December, I’ll be back to my usual D&D/RPG/Terrain blogging. I hope you join me for the ride.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Game Design Month 2012 And Me

  1. Pingback: Is it a snake? Is it diabolical? It’s the NaGaDeMon! | intwischa.com

  2. Pingback: NaGaDeMon 2012: Long Time Gamer, First Time Designer... | Game Knight Reviews

Leave a Reply

